Swati Dhingra appointed to the UK Monetary Policy Committee

Friday, May 13, 2022

CEPR Research Fellow Swati Dhingra appointed as an external member to the Bank of England's Monetary Policy Committee.  

Swati Dhingra will join the Monetary Policy Committee on 9 August for a 3-year term, replacing Michael Saunders. The Chancellor of the Exchequer, Rishi Sunak said:

“Dr. Swati Dhingra’s experience in international economics will bring valuable new expertise to the MPC. I am delighted to appoint her to this role and look forward to seeing her contribution to policymaking in the coming years.

Andrew Bailey, Governor of the Bank of England, said:

“I am very pleased to be welcoming Dr. Swati Dhingra to the MPC later this year. Her insights and perspective will be hugely beneficial to all of our discussions and we will benefit from her extensive research in international economics.

Swati Dhingra is a Research Fellow for CEPR's International Trade and Regional Economics (IT) programme. She is an Associate Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics, specialising in international economics and applied microeconomics. You can read a selection of her work below:

Swati's CEPR Discussion Papers can be found here, including:

She has also written for VoxEU, including:

You can read the full statement by the Bank of England here